The winners of IndePet’s 2024 Awards were announced at this year’s IndePet Conference, with some very deserving winners.

The four-day conference, which had the theme Momentum, was held in stunning Rotorua, New Zealand, an idyllic location renowned for its vibrant geothermal activity, stunning natural landscapes, and rich Māori culture.

The annual conference is a balance of educational and informative sessions, unique evening events, social networking activities, and a trade hall.

Todd Clarkson, CEO of IndePet, said with the momentum theme permeating throughout – the 2024 conference signified the start of the next phase of the IndePet story as they continue to focus on unity and building a force in the pet industry.

“Every year our conference reinforces the important relationship between our members and supplier partners – together we are a tribe who are stronger together.”

For the first time, this year’s conference included small format breakout sessions to give our sponsors a bespoke session with member delegates. It also featured an industry Q&A panel to discuss the future of the retail pet industry, the vital place of independents within that future, and the key roles that IndePet plays in that.

A highlight of the sessions was a video featuring leaders from other industries discussing the importance and success of cohesive buying groups within the market.

Tia Wishart, Business Development Manager at IndePet, explained the importance of the event to its members in sharing knowledge.

“This event is so valuable to our members, running an independent business can be isolating at times, so it was great to see everyone not only catching up socially, but sharing ideas and inspiration which will make the whole independent channel stronger into the future.”

IndePet’s 2024 Award Winners:

  • Local Community Hero Award – John Counihan
  • Ultimate In Store Experience Award – Macarthur Pets & The Reptile Shop
  • Inspiring Leader – Jeremy Maitland
  • Rising Star – Tahlia Scott
  • Supplier of the Year, Australia – Central Pet
  • Supplier of the Year, New Zealand – Brooklands Pet Products
  • The Founders Award, Australia – John Counihan
  • The Founders Award, New Zealand – Mari Visagie
  • Suppliers Choice Award, Australia – Kellyville Pets
  • Suppliers Choice Award, New Zealand – Pet Essentials Whangarei

To stay up to date on the latest industry headlines, sign up to the Pet Industry News e-newsletter.